Protecting your privacy on Viber
Safeguarding your privacy is a priority for us at Viber. Read more to discover how we protect your privacy, and what you can do to help.
Our privacy efforts go hand in hand with our dedication to keeping the app secure. Learn more about our end-to-end encryption security.
Lost or stolen phones
Block unwanted messages
Public Accounts and Communities
Viber don't keep:
Your messages - once delivered, no messages sent on Viber are held on our servers.
Recordings of your calls - your calls are never recorded.
As a user, you can change some of your Viber settings to limit what other users can see. Update your privacy from the Settings section of the app.
The settings in this section include:
Share online status
Show screen status
Manage your block list
Manage your hidden chats
Show your photo to other users
Clear trusted contacts
Allow Viber to collect anonymous data about your usage
If you have lost your phone, or it has been stolen, you can deactivate Viber by simply reactivating your account with the same phone number on a new phone.
Setting up Viber on a new phone will close your account on the old device, and no one will be able to access the chats stored in there.
Read more about deactivating your phone
You can block any number who you don't want to be able to contact you in future. Once you have blocked them, they can't call you or send you messages. If you are in a group with them, they will be able to see any messages you send in the group.
Block a Viber user from inside a chat, from the chat info screen, or from the block list in your settings.
Learn more about managing your block list
When you follow a Public Account your information isn't visible to anyone in the group.
When you join a Community and post in it, the other members of the Community can see your name and Viber photo only.
If you send a 1-on-1 message to a Public Account, the account's admins can see your message, Viber user name, picture and location.
When you install Viber on your phone you allow Viber to access certain parts of your phone in order to work properly. These permissions do not affect your privacy.
Read more about Permissions
Last Updated -