What happens when you connect Viber to a social network account?
When you set up Viber on your phone, you have the option to connect your Viber account to your other social network accounts, in particular, Facebook or VK. When you connect Viber to another social network account, Viber will receive the information on your public profile. This data is not available to other users on Viber (except your username and picture if you choose to share them).
Read on for more information.
Viber can only receive the public information on your social network accounts. This information will only be passed to us when you connect your account, we won't receive it again.
This information includes your name, profile image, and any other details you provide in the public section of your account.
We display your username and profile image to other users (you can hide your image if you want), and the rest of the information we receive helps us understand your needs in order to develop new features and services, and shape a better user experience.
Back to top
You can change your settings to restrict social media information from being used for the purposes listed above.
Find out more about how to adjust your phone settings to disallow personalized services from Viber.
For all users, if you deactivate your Viber account, the data provided by social networks is erased.
Back to top
Last Updated -