Managing your block list on iPhone
Block List FAQ
Please note that you can only block contacts from your mobile phone (or primary device).
What happens when I block a contact?
The blocked contact cannot send you a 1-on-1 Viber message or call
The blocked contact cannot add you to a Viber group chat
The blocked contact cannot view your online status
The blocked contact cannot see any changes you make to your profile
You cannot send Viber messages or calls to a blocked contact
You will still see messages a blocked contact has sent in a group chat you both participate in
You may still receive calls and notifications from blocked contacts on Viber for tablets, desktop, or Windows 8
When receiving a message from an unknown contact:
At the top of the chat, Viber will notify you that the sender is not in your contact list. You will be given the option to Add the contact or Block them.
When blocking a user from within a group chat:
You can block users that are participating in the same group as you through the group info screen. The blocked contact will still be able to see your activity within the group and you will be able to see theirs. However, they will not be able to message you privately.
1. Open the group chat
2. Swipe the screen to the left
3. Click on the contact
4. Click Block this Contact
When blocking a contact that is saved in your contact list:
1. Open the contact's screen
2. Select the contact
3. Click the edit icon on the top right
4. Select Block this contact
Blocking a contact from your Block List:
1. Go to the More screen
2. Open the Settings menu
3. Click on Privacy
4. Select Block List
5. Click Add Number
6. Select the contact or add the phone number you wish to block
Enter the number in the following format: + Country Code - Area Code - Phone Number. For example, the US number 1-234-567-8910 should be entered as +12345678910.
How do I unblock a contact?
1. Select More Options menu
2. Click Settings
3. Select Privacy
4. Click Block List
5. Find the contact you wish to unblock
6. Select Unblock
Note that unblocking a contact will not restore messages that they sent while they were blocked.
No. Contacts that have been blocked will not receive any indication that you have blocked them. They will be able to send messages to you as usual. However, you will not receive any of those messages.
In order to protect user privacy, there is no single way to determine whether your Viber ID has been blocked or not. Just as a person you have blocked will not be able to know you have done so, you will not be able to know if someone has blocked you.
Last Updated -